Life and love

Life and Love
they are comrades in this chaos
whole worlds in themselves
individuals indepedent of each other
but essential in each other
for one cant live without the other
they are together as two
and who will cede to the other?
is it wise to cede?
let wisdom herself answer such questions!
for i want them both
one without the other is not to live at all..

Is it really possible to have Life and Love too? is it really possible to have a life and a love too?

I am not writing this as an embittered-independent-new age bordering on lesbianinsm woman. But I love my freedom, in the every sense of the word. If tommorow, I wake up and I want to go back packing with the help of my Twitter or Facebook mates (ya, someone has actually done it!) I want to do it. Or maybe if my boss tells me to get to work at 9.00 am, I want to be able to say, “NO, I will come at…10.00”. Now all these are very do-able if you are single, but the moment you have someone you love and who, honest-to-goodness loves you back, boy are you tied or what?! and my goodness I dnt want to elaborate further why and how you are tied…

Life is breath itself. If you are breathing, its a gift…the platform for your purpose here. Try search for meaning-the truth, and I dnt mean the “monk who sold the ferrari’ kind of meaning, you will find your purpose! Its about saying, “Yes, I still have my troubles but no I not giving up”. Say your car/bike breaks down in the middle of nowhere, you walk sayin “Hey, I’m exercising I’m losing some weight!”. Its about letting go of all the petty grudges (and the big ones too) and moving on without looking back! Rediscover a forgotten hobby, skill – heck! work on your sleep too…maybe you will come up with an idea for a very comfortable pillow and you could sell it to curl-on or be extremely brilliant and cure insomnia and sell it to me! Life is meant to be lived and hell ya Iam doing it!

Now, Love is tricky. Love, I have realized, always involves an element of sacrifice. If you are a Christian, we know that God sent his only son, Jesus, to die for our sins. Abraham, in obedience, was going to sacrifice his only son, because God told him so and he loved God. Now, those are huge huge acts. Will I sacrifice my freedom which I hold so dear for a man (?) to be his devoted wife and be a mother to his children?..uhoh! Will I give up the comforts of my fathers house to be with a man who might not be able to provide the same? Will I give up my very lucrative career to relocate, just to be with a man? Will I compromise my values and ethics to accomodate someone in my life?…I can go on the whole night with these ‘will I’ questions. Now, some would say that I am looking at it from a very woman’s prespective, but my man ask yourself the same questions and you will fit in there very snug. For ” Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  8Love never fails. 13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. – 1 Corinthians 13″. Are we really willing to sacrifice our ‘self’ for Love then? If its a yes, then I want to meet you!

Where do these two meet? where do these two co-exist in harmony? I am honest-to-goodness lost out here. A very good friend told me, Love is not all about one person giving unconditionally all the time and the other one taking..it’s about appreciating each other. Well, that is the most satisfying answer that I have heard so far! I know, for a fact that it is not about two halves meeting or two souls split and meeting in the next life ( Witch of Portello). It is more about, two ‘wholes’ meeting in respect and understanding. Yes, Love IS friendship (kuch kuch hota hai) and also partnership. You do not marry or get into a relationship because you are lonely or for sex. You do it because you want to share, yes share your happiness with some one worthwhile.

There is no reason why you love someone too…. you just do!

